Since Covid19 I have not been able to sit down and write on my page. But I have decided to try to be better this year. I have been very busy in my Kitchen where confusion reigns due to the fact that I have had to re-think my own diet and what I can and should not be eating.

My Elder sister is in England and has discovered that she has Lymphodema and is so angry about it due to the fact that no actual research has been done and doctors are not very helpful with it. But in the UK they do have a site for people suffering from Lymphdema to visit. Which helps with ideas, hints, and tips about diet.

One of the diets or eating patterns that is encouraged is the Mediterranean Diet or recipes. Also, fermented foods are high on the list as well. So I have been very busy trying to make my own fermented vegetables and such like. It has been great fun and I am learning a lot. The use of course salt or as I know it Jewish Salt is very unusual as it does make things salty but they ferment quite quickly. But you do have to wash the vegetables after the first salting and before you make the brine or spice vinegar to store them in.

I have made pickled cucumbers, beetroot, and tried my hand at Kimshe. I also did the preserved lemons that I have been meaning to do for some time. I am enjoying this new venture in the kitchen.